New Academic Year: Dates for 2014 15
Monday, 11 August 2014 00:00

Some Key Dates for Parents and Pupils at the beginning of the 2014-15 Academic Year.

Thursday 14th August:   Release of A/AS Level Results

Monday 18th August:    A/AS Career Interviews

Thursday 21 August:       Release of GCSE Results and Career Interviews

Thursday 28 August:       Year 8 Induction 9am-12.30 pm. Year 13+Year 14 Induction  9am-1pm

Friday 29 August:             Year 9-12 Induction   9am-12.30 pm.

Monday 1st September:    Term starts for all year groups:     9am start.

Monday 8th September:    6th Form Parents Information Evening   7 pm start.

Thursday 11th September: Year 11 Parents Information Evening.   7pm start.

Tuesday 16 September:      Year 8 Parents Meeting – ‘Helping Your Child Achieve their Best    8 pm

Wednesday 17 September: Prize Day (Only Prize winners + 6th form attend)  10.30 am-12 30pm

Tuesday 30th September:   Year 8 Parents Meeting  2pm - 5pm+ 7pm- 9.30pm

Term Dates:

Winter Term:   Thurs. 28th August – Friday 19 Dec. (Half term Mon. 27th Oct – Fri. 31st Oct.)

Spring Term:    Mon. 5th January – Friday 27th March (Half term Mon. 16th Feb-Wed 18th Feb.)

Summer Term:     Mon. 13th April – Fri. 26th June.

 

JGD

 
Robotics Club Trip
Thursday, 26 June 2014 10:48

google logo

"Please do NOT share any of what is said to you today, as we don't want others to know what goes on at Google".  [Google Tour Contact]

Read more...
 
Year 8 Science Egg Race
Thursday, 26 June 2014 10:27

eggrace14 3

Year 8 have been busy planning and designing contraptions to propel a tennis ball as far as possible.

On Friday 20th June the contraptions were built and perfected for the competition. For once we were bathed in sunshine as we measured the distances covered out behind the Sports Hall. Year 8 are to be congratulated for their creativity and ingenuity! The winners were 'The Tankatrons' in 8M comprising Mark McNeill, Peter McConaghie, James McCormick, James Currie and Jensen Daley with a winning throw of 31.7 m. The Rainbows from 8M were in second place with a throw of 19m and third place was awarded to The B Team from 8W.

eggrace14 2 eggrace14 1

 
Junior Drama Club Presents ‘Much Ado About Nothing’
Friday, 20 June 2014 12:24

junior play14 cast

It all started back in January, when the Junior Drama Club decided that they would like to move on from all the drama games and short scenes which we had been working on, and focus on a much bigger goal: a Junior Drama Club Performance in front of a large audience! It was revealed that the Junior Drama Club would be performing an abridged version of Shakespeare's comedy, Much Ado About Nothing. There were a large number of pupils keen to walk the boards, and, after auditions had taken place, the cast list of 25 pupils was finally revealed!

Read more...
 
Dalriada pupils ‘go fer a dander’
Friday, 20 June 2014 10:32

biestys dander14

A sponsored walk took place in the school grounds at Dalriada School on Wednesday 18th June, to raise money to purchase new ICT equipment for the English Department.

The money is rolling in now from our junior pupils and Mrs Hadden, Head of Department, said she was absolutely delighted with how the pupils took to the cause! "All of our pupils worked really hard to collect sponsors and everyone contributed in some way. We are very proud of their efforts on our behalf." 

Read more...
 
The Dalriada Dander
Tuesday, 17 June 2014 14:43

The Dalriada Dander, raising funds for the English Department, takes place after lunch on Wednesday 18th June for all Key Stage Three pupils.

Pupils in Years 8-10 are reminded to come in non-uniform on Wednesday and bring a hat and sun-screen – it's forecast to be very warm! Thankfully, a free bottle of water and piece of fruit will be provided by our generous sponsor Mr Glen Biesty, of Biesty's CENTRA, Portrush Road, Ballymoney.

Pupils can bring in their sponsor money from Thursday 19th until Tuesday 24th June.

 
Learn Differently Science Workshops
Tuesday, 17 June 2014 12:48

science workshop june14 1

science workshop june14 3

On Monday 16th June 2014 Terence Finnegan returned to school to enthral and inspire Year 8 and Year 9 pupils with his 'Learn differently' Science presentations. In 'Chemical Connections' he demonstrated how to make a pig fly; we also witnessed many bangs and fizzes and discovered the chemistry behind the absorbancy of nappies.

Read more...
 
<< Start < Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next > End >>

Page 1 of 11